, Electromagnetic waves and their collision

In summary, Dwayne McIntosh had a question about using electromagnetic waves to produce heat through collisions with solid objects. However, it was clarified that electromagnetic waves do not collide with each other, but rather undergo interference when they come across each other. Heat can be produced by these waves when they interact with matter, similar to how a microwave oven works. The amount of heat produced depends on the phase of the interacting waves and can be compared to ripples meeting on the surface of water.
osiris545
Hello everyone, My Name is Dwayne McIntosh.

I am not that good at Physics or Mathematics however i do have a problem.

I was brainstorming the other day and i wanted to know, what if one was to use say electromagnetic waves (may be different wavelength,frequency or Photon Energy, but with the same property;passing through solid objects) and make them collide, would the collision produce heat?

I hope this is not a dumb question

If yes, then how do i calculate that heat energy

Physics news on Phys.org
osiris545 said:
what if one was to use say electromagnetic waves (may be different wavelength,frequency or Photon Energy, but with the same property;passing through solid objects) and make them collide, would the collision produce heat?

It's easy to get heat by passing electromagnetic waves through a solid material - that's what a microwave oven does. However, in that case the the heat is produced by the microwaves acting on the molecules of the material, not by the the waves colliding with each other.

Electromagnetic radiation doesn't collide with itself; if you set up two waves and send them towards one another they just meet and quietly pass through each other. Neither one is changed by the presence of the other one.