Eigenvalues of the position operator

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of eigenvalues of the position operator in quantum mechanics. The speaker recalls their previous experience with linear algebra and mentions their professor's statement that the eigenvalues of the position operator do not exist. They then ask for clarification on this statement and discuss the possibility of writing the position operator under matrix form. The conversation also touches on the issue of countability and the use of a basis in the momentum representation.
fluidistic
Gold Member
I'm new to QM, but I've had a linear algebra course before. However I've never dealt with vector spaces having infinite dimension (as far as I remember).
My QM professor said "the eigenvalues of the position operator don't exist". I've googled "eigenvalues of position operator", checked into wikipedia's and wolfram's pages but they seem to only talk briefly on eigenfunctions of that operator.
I understand that the basis of the vector space spanned by all possible wave functions ##\Psi##'s has infinite dimension so I expect that if I want to write the position operator ##\hat x## under matrix form, it would be an infinite matrix. But I don't think this implies that the eigenvalues don't exist (I guess they are infinite?).
Why are the eigenvalues non existing and what does that mean exactly?
Thanks...

Physics news on Phys.org
fluidistic said:
I'm new to QM, but I've had a linear algebra course before. However I've never dealt with vector spaces having infinite dimension (as far as I remember).
My QM professor said "the eigenvalues of the position operator don't exist". I've googled "eigenvalues of position operator", checked into wikipedia's and wolfram's pages but they seem to only talk briefly on eigenfunctions of that operator.