EE student with Physics minor?

In summary, it is tough to say whether or not it is worth it to minor in physics. It all depends on what you want to do with your degree and what you think your strengths are. If you are able to get an interview and talk about your major, it is definitely worth it.
kte24
Hello, I'm currently studying electrical engineering and going into my senior year this fall. I've always had a fascination with physics since I am the type of person that likes to ask "why?". My main concern is that with a physics minor, I may have to stay an extra semester or two (not too big of a deal), but what type of benefits can I gain out of it (career wise)? I also thought about minoring in CIS but I absolutely hate coding but that seems to be a perfect match for an EE. Is anyone else in a similar position??

Physics news on Phys.org
I have a BS in physics and MS in EE, and I found the physics background to be very helpful in my career. Whether it's worth another semester is a tougher call, but I would say yes. One other piece of advice - please try to get over your dislike of coding, since you will need to rely on computers in almost any field, and EE is no exception.

I guess i shouldn't have said "hate" coding. I understand the basic concepts and I know what i want to do when it comes to writing code, I am just not good with syntax of the different languages. It just annoys me :-p I am currently taking power classes as well as control systems classes and that seems to be what I want to go into specifically, so I am not really sure how much physics relate to these in the working world.

All depends on you. If you're in a rush to get out of school (for either a job, grad school, etc.), then maybe it's not worth it. You can always self study on your spare time when you start working. Alternately, one you get to grad school, you can take physics classes for your electives or just to audit them once you finish your other course requirements.