Double Major in Physics and What?

In summary, it seems that a double major in physics and math is more employable than a major in physics and chemistry.
zoiberg137
Just wondering if I get get some opinions on what is thought to be more "employable", a double major in physics and math, or physics and chemistry?

Or if there's another combination you would like to recommend, feel free!

Some sources online say physics is a great thing to major in with the need for science related graduates right now...Other sources say physics is as "worthless" as philosophy. Whatever. So, I figure a double major, if i can pull it off, would be better than one in terms of finding a job after school. (although I guess I should add that I have every intention of getting a masters, maybe even phd eventually, but I won't try to decide which subject until I have my undergrad degree figured out...) And if I could get a job in the field WHILE pursuing a masters, that would be great...

Physics news on Phys.org
If you only care about empoyability, then a double major in physics and engineering is best.

Hmm, haven't considered that... I've always considered engineering to be an option for grad school. I was afraid of getting too specialized in a field during undergrad years then deciding I want to do something else. That's why I kind of like physics, I feel like it will provide a large number of options...

*bump

Since chemistry is applied physics and physics is applied math, I'd say getting a double in math and physics is more employable, at least for physicists. You don't need to know chemistry to do physics, so it would be irrelevant to take all of those classes if you want to be a physicist. However, if you want to be a chemist, having a strong physics background would look great, just as having a strong mathematical background looks great for physicists.