Doing proofs using the basic properties of numbers, problems

In summary, to prove the given inequality, one must first define square roots, division, and the number 2 in order to use Spivak's 12 properties of numbers. The square root of a positive number is defined as the unique positive number whose square is the given number. Division is defined as multiplying by the inverse, and the number 2 is defined as 1+1. Once these definitions are accepted, the inequality can be broken up into parts and proved using algebra and the given assumptions.
gothloli

Homework Statement

Prove that if 0 < a < b,
then a < √ab < (a + b)/2 < b

Homework Equations

To prove this use the 12 properties of numbers (commutativity, trichotomy law, associativity, etc...).

The Attempt at a Solution

The main problem is I don't know if I need to define the square root function since I'm doing a proof. I'm new to all this, this is my first time doing analysis, so bear with me.
I assume you break up the inequality into parts, since a<b is already defined, we don't need to prove the whole inequality. So I did the first part, unintutively

a<√ab
a^2 < (ab)
(a)(a) (a^-1) < (ab)(a^-1)
a<b which was assumed thus the inequality is proven

Also
(a + b)/2 < b
(a +b)(2^-1) (2) < b(2)
a < b

Problem is I don't know what to write division of 2 as, since it's not listed in basic property. Also I don't know how to prove the 2 centre terms of the inequality: √ab < (a + b)/2

Physics news on Phys.org