Does Physics course teach basic computing skills?

In summary, taking an evening course in programming can be very useful for those who want to learn it on their own.
Violinist
At university of Toronto, do certain physics courses teach computer programmings? or do I need to take extra course for computer
Not that I don't want to take it but I think I will have full course for both 1st year uni even without the computer courses. I think it is important to learn programming if i am a physics major.

Physics news on Phys.org
From what I know it really is important, but I think it's assumed that you already know how to program when you are a physics major. You pretty much have to study it by yourself.

mathsciguy said:
From what I know it really is important, but I think it's assumed that you already know how to program when you are a physics major. You pretty much have to study it by yourself.

I have no prior knowledge, can you teach me some stuff that I should know before graduating high school and I shall be learning during the undergrad?

Violinist said:
I have no prior knowledge, can you teach me some stuff that I should know before graduating high school and I shall be learning during the undergrad?

I haven't reached far from the program myself yet but it's a no brainer that you should get as much math skills and knowledge (preferably as far as calculus) as you can before entering college. Programming skills is a huge plus (though, computational physics is something I'm yet to take)

Violinist said:
At university of Toronto, do certain physics courses teach computer programmings?

Surely the UofT website has course descriptions. If a particular physics course is also intended to teach computer programming, the course description should say so.