Do you need a microbiology degree to work as a microbiologist?

In summary, as a 1st semester freshman at a state university pursuing a Microbiology/Biotech major, you have 7 chem classes, 2 physics classes, and a handful of biology classes in your concentration. While you enjoy microbiology, you are concerned about the limited room to study other biology subjects due to the lengthy chemistry requirements. Whether you should continue with this major or switch to a general BS Biology degree program depends on your individual goals and interests. If you are solely interested in becoming an epidemiologist, the Microbiology/Biotech major may be the best option, but if you want the freedom to explore different areas within biology, a general BS Biology degree may be more suitable. Ultimately, it is important to consider your
tree-lights
I am currently a 1st semester freshman at my state university. I am a Microbiology/Biotech major. My degree requires 7 chem classes, 2 physics, and then a handful of biology classes in my concentration (not including a handful of general biology classes).

I really like microbiology, but this degree option doesn't give me a lot of room to study other biology subjects because of the lengthy chemistry requirements.

Should I continue with this Microbio major if I would like to work (as an epidemiologist, hopefully), or should I switch to a general BS Biology degree program which will give me the freedom to study all the classes I want?

Physics news on Phys.org