Do different frames of reference experience time dilation at the same rate?

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of time and its relationship with physical processes. The main points are that time is defined as what clocks measure, but there is no universal absolute clock. Time dilation is a real phenomenon predicted by special relativity, and it is accepted that all physical processes are affected by speed and gravity. However, there is no way to measure a true or undistorted time, and the concept of time being a constant may be flawed. Overall, the conversation highlights the complexities of understanding time and its measurement.
kweagle
Hi Everyone, first I want to say I have no formal education or background on these topics, but find them very interesting and research and learn as much as I can on my own. With that in mind, I am hoping some of you will have the patience to explain what I don't seem to understand.

What I am curious most about it 'what is time' from a scientific standpoint. I can't seem to find a definitive answer to this, which maybe there is not one. It would however help me in understanding the next part of my question.

I am thinking of this in term of GPS positioning satellites. I understand and accept that these satellites experience a time dilation relative to the Earth's surface due to the speed they travel and the gravitational difference. I understand that they use atomic clocks which are the most accurate way we have of measuring time. What I don't understand is how do we know that speed and gravity are actually affecting 'time itself', and not just affecting the atomic vibrations we are measuring instead?

Physics news on Phys.org
Time dilation was predicted by special relativity, and later proved to be real.
As for what time actually is, Einstien said that it's the thing that gets measured by clocks.

Hi, kweagle. Welcome to PF!