Do any of the higher classes require memorization?

• Thread starter DrTherapist
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Classes
In summary: for example, the special sensory neurons innervating the teeth are also those that innervate the skin on the face.
DrTherapist
I think the concept of memorizing (at least in the pure sciences) is not correct at all. I think it requires pure logic and skills over anything else. Memorizing is just 1 percent of the deal. I am a BSc first year student and I got an A in Zoology-I despite not having a photographic memory. I got a B+ in Zoology-II, and remaining two botany papers. I guess I did pretty well, despite not having a good memory.

I talked with a few users on another forum (which wasn't about science, I know I know, I did a mistake) and they "could not understand" what I was saying. I guess either they faked their background in science or is it really true that science (let's say, life sciences for instance) relies just on memory? I am talking about Masters level here, not high school level biology.

Physics news on Phys.org
Biology, chemistry, physics, engineering or mathematics all require a different amount of memorizing. The process of memorizing also is different by person and by subject. Understanding cannot be achieved by pure memory, but neither without any memory. The entire process is very complex and individual.

Likes BillTre, Klystron, russ_watters and 2 others
DrTherapist said:
I am talking about Masters level here, not high school level biology.
A good friend of mine (we got our MSEE degrees together) ended up going to Medical School to become an MD (he's an OBGYN now). He said Medical School was pretty easy for him, because it is approximately half memorization, which he is very good at. Having that skill gave him an advantage over the other medical students.

Likes DrTherapist
fresh_42 said: