Dispersion relation with Matlab

In summary, the speaker is studying band gaps in an experiment and is having trouble defining the stop bands using just a transmission spectrum from an FFT algorithm. They have heard about using a dispersion relation plot to identify anomalous dispersion regions, but they are not sure how to do it. They also need help figuring out which FT algorithm to use to get phase data. Finally, they are trying to convert a matrix in MATLAB into one long vector but are struggling. Another speaker offers a function to help with this. The conversation also touches on the concepts of electrons within a solid, estimating the stop band from a transmission spectrum, and the difference between acoustical and optical frequencies below and above the stop band in a diatomic lattice.
Beer-monster
I'm studying the phenemenon of band gaps in a experiment, however the stop bands are proving hard to define using just a transmission spectrum dervived from the fft alogrithm.

I've heard that it may be possible to define the band region by plotting the dispersion relation of sound waves the sound waves and looking for regions of anomalous dispersion. Unfortunately I have no idea how to go about this, does anyone have any info on this sort of analysis that could get me started?

Could someone tell me which FT alogorithm I would need to get phase data as I think the fft only give amplitude and requency info?

Oh and one last thing, does anyone know how I can convert a matrix in MATLAB into one long vector (so that each successive column is kind of added to the end of one large column) I've been trying this for a while but not getting very far.

Physics news on Phys.org
solved it in 5 mins, enjoy the function! here you go!

function out = mat2col(A)
[row col] = size(A)

for n = 1:col
out([1+(n-1)*row:n*row],1) = A(:,n);
end

Are you treating electrons within a solid as an incident beam of electrons?