Discover the Top Physics Reference Book for Foundation Science Students

In summary, I think you might want to consider one of the following: Understanding Physics by Isaac Asimov, The Ascent of Science by Brian Silver, or Physics, by Resnick, Halliday & Krane.
Natasha Rivol
Hello. Can i know which reference book is the best for physics? I am a foundation in science student

Physics news on Phys.org
Natasha Rivol said:
Hello. Can i know which reference book is the best for physics? I am a foundation in science student

What year are you in school? Are you in university now? What kind of areas of Physics are you studying now? :smile:

berkeman said:
What year are you in school? Are you in university now? What kind of areas of Physics are you studying now? :smile:

I am in a university now, but as a student of foundation in science and technology. Which have the same level as matriculation. For foundation we doesn't have any focused area in physics. We are learning general/basic(?) Physics

Dear Natasha,

I think you might have to narrow your question down a bit. By "reference", one could understand something like "general", or perhaps something along the lines of a handbook of physical constants and/or formulas. "Foundation in Science and Technology" sounds unfamiliar to me, and in my head it could even mean something along the lines of Philosophy of Science or Phylosophy of Physics.

If I were to take the simplest understanding that I can think of for your query, I would suggest either (or all) of the following:

Understanding Physics, by Isaac Asimov (There's another book with this title mentioned often here in PF, but I can't remember the author(s)).
The Ascent of Science, by Brian Silver (general history of science, but very good on the physics parts)

also, in a slightly different category (these are basically "Intro to physics" books, with math and problems):

Physics, by Resnick, Halliday & Krane
Physics for Scientists and Engineers, by Serway et. al