Discover Solutions for Vectors Cross Product Homework | AM x BC = AM x AC

In summary: To be sure that you fully understand:My conclusion is that point M can lie on the vectors AM and BC, if and only if AM and BC form a right angle.
Jeanclaud

Homework Statement

Find the set of points of M such that:
AM x BC=AM x AC (Vectors)

The Attempt at a Solution

[/b]
AM x (BM+MC) =AMx(AM+MC)
AMxBM+AMxMC=AMxAM +AM x MC
Then AMxBM=0
MA X MB=0

I am new to this lesson and this is my first time i solve such a question and i had no idea how to solve it but i tried my best please some help give me some hints, Thank you.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Jeanclaud said:
  • Homework Statement

Find the set of points of M such that:
AM x BC=AM x AC (Vectors)

The Attempt at a Solution

AM x (BM+MC) =AMx(AM+MC)
AMxBM+AMxMC=AMxAM +AM x MC
Then AMxBM=0
MA X MB=0[/B]

I am new to this lesson and this is my first time i solve such a question and i had no idea how to solve it but i tried my best please some help give me some hints, Thank you.
If AM × BM = 0 , then how is AM oriented relative to BM ?

SammyS said:
If AM × BM = 0 , then how is AM oriented relative to BM ?
Right-handed

Jeanclaud said:
Right-handed
Do you mean that they form a right angle?

Yes, they do.

Look at two fixed points, A and B, in a plane. Consider where point M can lie, if vector, AMBM . Now consider all such locations point M can occupy.

SammyS said:
Do you mean that they form a right angle?

Yes, they do.

Look at two fixed points, A and B, in a plane. Consider where point M can lie, if vector, AMBM . Now consider all such locations point M can occupy.
Thanks for the help.

Jeanclaud said:
Thanks for the help.
To be sure that you fully understand:

What is your final conclusion regarding the set of points on which point M can lie?

Related to Discover Solutions for Vectors Cross Product Homework | AM x BC = AM x AC

What is a vector cross product?