Dimensions of P and ##\omega##

• I
  • Thread starter AHSAN MUJTABA
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Dimensions
In summary, the conversation discusses the use of natural units in polymer quantum mechanics and how it affects the dimensions of momentum and other quantities. The conversation also delves into the measurement of mass in terms of GeV and the conversion between different units in natural units. The concept of natural units is explained as well. The conversation ends with a mention of the measurement of temperature in GeV when ##k_{\text{B}}## is also set to 1.
AHSAN MUJTABA
TL;DR Summary
Dimensional analysis in quantum mechanics, of physical quantities.
I am studying polymer quantum mechanics. In it, they say that the momentum, ##p## eigenvalue, has the dimensions of ##(mass)^{-1}## and similarly ##\omega## has the dimensions of ##mass##. How it is possible, please someone explain that to me. Even a little hint would work.
I don't get it. Also, I would require some assistance regarding the units of Planck's reduced mass, ##M_{PI}^{2}##. How can it be measured in terms of GeV?

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm not sure about the conventions in the polymer-physics community, but from what you describe, I guess they use a similar convention as we do in HEP physics, i.e., they use natural units, setting ##\hbar=c=1##. In such a system of units you have only one dimension left. You can choose energies (MeV or GeV) or lengths (usually fm). Usually one uses GeV for masses, energies, momenta, frequencies, wave numbers etc. and fm for lengths and times. All you have to keep in mind to convert from GeV to 1/fm or from fm to 1/GeV is that ##\hbar c \simeq 0.197 \; \text{GeV} \; \text{fm}##.

Does that imply that the dimension of momentum eigenvalue becomes inverse of mass? You say that we measure mass in terms of GeV. So, due to that unit(GeV), does the dimension of momentum become (mass)##^{-1}##?