Detanglers for copper wire/power lines - Do they exist?

In summary, the designer is working on a VAWT design that uses a contra-rotating turbine. He is new to electrical engineering and is having trouble with the winding motion of the magnets and the need for power cables to trail down through the base. He is looking for a way to detangle the power cables or to use gallium instead of wire. He also has ideas for redesigning the VAWT to improve its efficiency.
Jimmerding
Morning all,

I am currently designing a VAWT and am working on a contra-rotating turbine, but I am extremely new to electrical engineering as a whole, I just really like the idea of designing something like this as a fun project and possibly being able to benefit from lower power bills as a result!

The problem I am facing comes from the winding motion of the permanent magnets and my need to have power cables trailing down through a base. If I have just normal wiring, it will eventually start winding too tightly and need to spring back the other way. I've tried googling some sort of "detangler" device that will work for power cables, but have only found ones for telephone cables in call centers. Can anybody point me in the direction of something like this they know exists or perhaps a simple engineering solution that I am missing?

Thanks.

Engineering news on Phys.org
slip rings

Likes davenn
Nidum said:
slip rings

Perfect! Thanks for that.