Desiring to Enter Physics Research; Seeking advice

In summary: It would be nice if I could at least find a mentor who is into the field in some way or another and be able to share ideas and research papers with them, but alas that is unlikely as well.In summary, Indian student wants to do physics research in a field where there are limited prospects. They plan on getting good grades and recommendations, taking physics courses, and researching what skill sets they should have and what areas they should research.
random_soldier
Good day, ladies and gents.

I am an Indian student of Electronics and Communications engineering currently studying in India. However, I wish to do research in a field of physics. I'm not sure at the moment of which one since the number of how many interest me is too numerous (however, if you would like to know I will add a list at the bottom). Even more than that, though, I wish to live and earn my income solely for the purpose of researching and learning physics, maybe as much as I can of my field and as much as I can of it overall. Unfortunately, prospects here are limited for further education and research.

So I wanted to know how would I exactly maximize my chances of getting my preferred job in a region where an actual attempt at research is made?

Grades are obvious. I plan on giving the GRE after getting done with my engineering and then applying to a (hopefully) reputed institute. That much is obvious.