Designing a Roll Cage for an Electric Car

In summary, In order to design a roll cage for an electric car, the student needs to think about what the roll cage will do. The student needs to think about how the cage will protect the passengers in the event of a rollover. The student needs to think about how to make the arch of the roll cage strong. However, if the arch of the roll cage interferes with the design of the frame, the student can replace the tubes with a different member.
Abhishekdas
I am a bachelors mechanical engineering student with a decent factual knowledge about cars and how they work. But i am a novice with no experience when it comes to design. Now I (along with 3 other guys) have been assigned the task of designing the roll cage of an electric car. I did not get any relevant theory material in the net and I do not have any books covering roll cage design. So I request you all to guide me through by referring some websites or books which covers this topic and how to go about with the design in general.
The details which have been decided upon are :
1. Car for 2 people
2. Range - 100 kms in one charge
3. Max speed- 6 mph
4. 4 batteries weigh total 40 kgs
5. Motor + transmission = 30 kgs
6. Rear wheel drive (single wheel at the rear) and two wheels at front with steering

Thanking you in adavance...

Engineering news on Phys.org
Abhishekdas said:
I am a bachelors mechanical engineering student with a decent factual knowledge about cars and how they work. But i am a novice with no experience when it comes to design. Now I (along with 3 other guys) have been assigned the task of designing the roll cage of an electric car. I did not get any relevant theory material in the net and I do not have any books covering roll cage design. So I request you all to guide me through by referring some websites or books which covers this topic and how to go about with the design in general.
The details which have been decided upon are :
1. Car for 2 people