Derivation of the photoionization cross section

In summary: Secondly, we need to consider the polarization of the photon. This is where the polarization vector u_\lambda comes into play. The electric field operator \hat{\mathbf{E}} can be written in terms of the photon polarization vector and the photon wavevector \mathbf{k} as \hat{\mathbf{E}} = c \sqrt{\frac{\hbar}{2 \omega V}} u_\lambda \exp(i \mathbf{kr}).Finally, we need to consider the density of final states, which is given by \rho(E_f) dE_f= \frac{V p_f
Syrius
Hallo Physics Forum,

this is my first post, so please be gentle to me :). I am currently studying the relativistic photoionization process, and especially its differential cross section. Let us assume that we have a highly energetic, unpolarized photon beam traveling on the z-axis and colliding with unpolarized atoms. As a result these atoms get ionized by the absorption of photons. Here we do not observe the spin of these electrons. In Physics Reports 439 (2007) 1-99 it is stated on page 36 that the differential cross section for this process can be written as
\begin{align}
\frac{d \sigma^{ph}(\theta)}{d\theta} = \frac{\alpha \ m_e \ c^2}{4 \ \hbar \ \omega} \frac{\lambda_c^2}{2 (2 j_n+1)} \sum_{\mu_n} \ \sum_{m_s=\pm 1/2} \ \sum_{\lambda=\pm 1} |M_{p,n}(m_s,\lambda,\mu_n)|^2,
\end{align}
where [itex]\alpha[/itex] is the finestructure constant and [itex]\lambda_c = \frac{\hbar}{m_e c}[/itex] the Compton wavelength.
The matrix element is written as
\begin{align}
M_{p,n}(m_s,\lambda,\mu_n) = \int \psi_{p,m_s}^\dagger(\mathbf{r}) \ \alpha \ u_\lambda \ \exp(i \mathbf{k r}) \psi_{j_n, \mu_n}(\mathbf{r}) \mathrm{d}^3 r,
\end{align}