Density Functional Theory (DFT) textbooks

In summary, there are two recommended textbooks for studying Density Functional Theory: "Density Functional Theory of Atoms and Molecules" by Parr and Yang, and "Density Functional Theory: A Practical Introduction" by David Sholl. While the former is considered a standard for DFT in quantum chemistry, the latter is well-written and offers the option of a superficial or careful study. Both books cover different aspects of DFT, making them valuable resources for students.
August
I'm starting out on DFT right now.
I'm an experimental Physics student, so I'm not very familiar with theories.
Can you recommend any good textbooks or resources that I can utilize for my study??

Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
Density Functional Theory of Atoms and Molecules by Parr and Yang is one of the standards for DFT as applied to quantum chemistry. I'm less familiar with solid state DFT methods. Some things are easier (choice of basis set) and some things are harder (k space formalism), but many of the basic ideas transfer over.

August said:
Can you recommend any good textbooks or resources that I can utilize for my study??
In my opinion "Density Functional Theory: A Practical Introduction" by David Sholl is a very good and well-written textbook for DFT. In this book you can select either superficial or careful study of DFT and the author gives a very significant guide for the way you want to read the book. Some of the chapters are set in such a way that are not strongly dependent together.

Related to Density Functional Theory (DFT) textbooks

1. What is Density Functional Theory (DFT) and why is it important to study?

Density Functional Theory (DFT) is a computational method used to study the electronic structure of atoms, molecules, and solids. It is important because it allows for accurate predictions of physical properties and can provide insights into the behavior of materials at the atomic level.