Deciding whether to audit, take the class, or take pass/fail

• Thread starter dh363
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Class
In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of taking an introductory complex analysis course without having prior knowledge of real analysis. The course description indicates that while the class may cover some concepts from real analysis, it is primarily focused on complex numbers and functions. The use of a textbook that does not assume advanced mathematical knowledge suggests that the course is meant to be introductory. However, the speaker advises caution and suggests speaking with the professor to ensure readiness for the course.
dh363
Hey guys, I'm a sophomore thinking about adding into a complex analysis class. The thing is, I'm not sure whether the class would require concepts from Real Analysis (which I haven't taken) or not. The professor didn't list analysis as a prereq but from a conceptual standpoint speaks of the class as if it comes after analysis. I attended the first class and kept up perfectly fine, but that doesn't really say anything, since we haven't gotten into anything difficult yet.

The course description states "Complex numbers. Analytic functions including exponential, logarithmic and trigonometric functions of a complex variable. Geometric and mapping properties of analytic functions. Contour integration, Cauchy's theorem, the Cauchy integral formula. Power series representations. Residues and poles, with applications to the evaluation of integrals. Conformal mapping and applications as time permits.
"