Currently what are the most in-demand fields in Physics?

In summary, the most in-demand paths in physics for potential employers in the US are medical physics, semiconductor physics, and programming-related fields. These areas seem to offer the highest salaries and job opportunities for both academic and industrial positions. However, programming skills are becoming increasingly important in all areas of physics research, so specializing in any field can lead to job opportunities in industry. Additionally, the field of radiation physics, specifically in the nuclear industry, is currently in high demand and offers high salaries for those with the appropriate education and skills. Overall, pursuing a degree in physics with a focus on developing programming skills can lead to a successful and lucrative career in a variety of fields.
VJaya
Hi. I am currently an undergrad following a physics major, and I am in the final year of my course.I am planning to continue on with grad studies and wants to know the most demanding(subject wise and salary wise) paths in physics.(Ex: astrophysics,astronomy,condensed matter physics,medical physics,geophysics,plasma physics,optical physics,high energy/particle physics etc)

Physics news on Phys.org
From my social circle, those who specialized in medical physics or semiconductor physics seem to have no problem finding jobs directly related to their fields.

Likes VJaya
VJaya said:
Hi. I am currently an undergrad following a physics major, and I am in the final year of my course.I am planning to continue on with grad studies and wants to know the most demanding(subject wise and salary wise) paths in physics.(Ex: astrophysics,astronomy,condensed matter physics,medical physics,geophysics,plasma physics,optical physics,high energy/particle physics etc)