Crystal Optics -- Learning resources wanted....

In summary, for understanding crystal optics at a graduate level, it is recommended to read J.F. Nye's "Physical Properties of Crystals", which has a section on crystal optics and is known for being thorough and insightful yet easy to read. Another useful resource is the relevant chapter in Born and Wolf's textbook, and for more advanced topics, the OSAs Handbook of Optics has a chapter specifically on crystal optics.
shpongle
What are some good resources : books, websites, etc to understand crystal optics? I am a graduate student and I want to start with the basics.

Physics news on Phys.org
One book that I think every graduate Physics Student needs to read is J.F. Nye's "Physical Properties of Crystals -their representation by tensors and matrices" . I think it has a section on crystal optics as well. It is one of the better textbooks that is very thorough and very insightful, and at the same time still relatively easy to read.

shpongle said:
What are some good resources : books, websites, etc to understand crystal optics? I am a graduate student and I want to start with the basics.

At the graduate level, a standard introduction is the relevant chapter in Born and Wolf. Beyond that (photonic bandgap materials, for example), OSAs Handbook of Optics has a lot of good material in volume 4.

Charles Link said:
One book that I think every graduate Physics Student needs to read is J.F. Nye's "Physical Properties of Crystals -their representation by tensors and matrices" . I think it has a section on crystal optics as well. It is one of the better textbooks that is very thorough and very insightful, and at the same time still relatively easy to read.
From the contents it looks fine! Thanks

Likes Charles Link
Andy Resnick said: