Crater Depth and Height Relationship

In summary, the student is conducting a physics project to prove that an object dropped from a taller height will create a bigger impact crater. They plan to conduct 25 drops from different heights and measure the crater depth. They are unsure of how to mathematically relate the height to the energy increase and crater depth, but plan to use equations for kinetic energy, potential energy, and velocity to determine the total energy. They also mention the need for plotting and analysis to find a mathematical relationship between the independent and dependent variables.
IB tired

Homework Statement

Hello! I am an honors physics student and i have been assigned a project that has puzzled me. I have a container full of sand, a couple meter sticks, a tennis ball, and a stopwatch. What I need to do is prove something through the use of these items. What I am going to try to do is prove that an object dropped from a taller height will create a bigger impact crater. This is a very elementary concept, I know. I just don't know how to mathematically relate the crater depth to the increase in energy. I see that with the height increase, the total energy increases. But how do I directly relate the crater depth to the energy increase? I can find the velocity before the impact, how do I factor in the velocity of the impact?

Homework Equations

Ke=1/2MV2
Ep=MGH
Vf2=Vi2+2AΔX

The Attempt at a Solution