Continuing in Academia: Physics or Computer Sciences?

In summary, the person is currently pursuing a dual degree in physics and computer sciences and is interested in a career in research. They are concerned about their options after graduation and the possibility of not being able to enter academia. They are also hesitant to stop their studies and are seeking advice on how to handle potential challenges in their career path.
Geranimo
Hi, I'm currently in a physics/computer sciences dual degree and I will finish it in 2 years if everything goes fine. I am interested in physics and computer sciences, and my options after my degree is either to continue in CS or physics. My ideal job would be a researcher but I don't know if I have the personality required to success in such a competitive field.

So there is the problem:

If I get a PhD in physics and can't make it into academia, I'm pretty much ****ed. I know people still manage to get good jobs, but from what I've read, it's not easy.

If I get it in CS and can't make it into academia, I'm also ****ed because from what I've read, the skills developed during PhD do not transfer well into industry.

So.. what would be your advice? I don't really like the idea of stopping my studies early because I love to learn. And I don't want a boring job in industry if I fail to get into academia.

Physics news on Phys.org
Geranimo said:
I don't want a boring job in industry if I fail to get into academia.
Then don't accept a boring industry job. They vary widely. What one person finds boring another finds exciting.

Geranimo said:
don't really like the idea of stopping my studies early because I love to learn.
Learning doesn't stop when you get out of school. You can self study anything you want. Have you actually conducted research yet? If not, you may find you don't like it.

Geranimo said:
nd I don't want a boring job in industry if I fail to get into academia.