Constructing Equations from Points

In summary, The conversation discusses the poster's experience as an engineer with brain tumors affecting their ability to process math. They are seeking help with writing equations for a project involving temperature readings from an engine block and controlling a radiator fan. They have found a power curve fit but it is not accurate for higher voltages. Suggestions are made to model the process as a linear function or to consider using an NTC resistor.
Dominic Luciano
Hi guys, new here. Thank you for reading my post. I'm posting today because although I'm an engineer, I have some brain tumors that have impeded my ability to process most math above basic algebra (despite the fact that prior I'd gone all the way through stats in college). It didn't really start until I was in about that last year of college, and the older I get the worse it gets. Makes my job hard sometimes, but generally I honestly don't run into this kind of math often. The funny part is I was told the tumors could very well have stimulated other parts of my brain which is why I have a higher than normal aptitude for a ton of other things. Give and take I guess. But enough about me; down to business ;)

I'm trying to write some equations based off of some data points that I have for a relatively easy project (the engineering side). Currently I'm in the programming stage, so this is all that's really left.

The project pulls the temperature from a resistive probe in the engine block of a 4Runner (12V in, lower voltage out; read that voltage and the difference in V is the temp). That information is translated down to 5V by a voltage divider (a really high wattage one at that) and a Zener diode for safety. Then the Analog to Digital Converter (ADC) on a Mega328P reads that voltage and translates that into the duty cycle of a PWM controlling a 120A MOSFET controlling the radiator fan. But if I can't get the right equation, then this becomes trash and doesn't work.