Considering writing essay about laser fusion?

In summary, a physics undergrad is considering writing a 3000 word essay on laser fusion, but is concerned about finding proper sources for information. They ask if it would be a wise choice for their essay and if there are any recommended books or papers on the topic. Additionally, the most recent Scientific American magazine has an article about fusion power.
jeebs
Hi,
I am a physics undergrad and this term I have to write a 3000 word essay on one of about 10 possible topics. One topic which caught my eye was laser fusion. Whichever topic I choose, I will need to find information from a variety of proper sources (not just trawling google). This is what I am slightly concerned about - am I going to have difficulty finding sources of info for this topic?
I ask this because, correct me if I'm wrong, it is a relatively new science, and since no one has managed to make it commercially viable yet, it perhaps isn't as well understood as other areas?
So, do you think it would be a wise choice for my essay?
if so, do you have any reccomendations of relevant books or papers I might have a look at?
Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
The most recent Scientific American has an article about fusion power.

Related to Considering writing essay about laser fusion?

1. What is laser fusion?

Laser fusion is a process that involves using high-powered lasers to heat and compress hydrogen isotopes, typically deuterium and tritium, in order to initiate a fusion reaction. This reaction releases a tremendous amount of energy, similar to the process that powers the sun.

2. How does laser fusion differ from other forms of fusion?

Laser fusion differs from other forms of fusion, such as magnetic confinement fusion, in that it uses powerful lasers to compress and heat the fuel instead of magnetic fields. This allows for higher pressures and temperatures to be achieved, resulting in a more efficient fusion reaction.