Computing entropy change of ideal gas during heating

In summary, this conversation summarizes what is being said. The individual is a first time poster and is trying to help a child who is taking a college class on this stuff this summer. They explain that they will not go through all of the steps or give the explicit equation for C_p(t) or entropy. They ask for help understanding classical thermodynamics since they are self-taught. The individual provides a summary of the content and explains that the child may have misunderstood the TA and that the child is mainly worried about academic integrity. They state that the child is ok and does not need to worry about getting the final correct answer.
jasonRF
Science Advisor
Gold Member
Homework Statement
Compute the entropy change of n moles of an ideal gas that is heated from [itex]T_i[/itex] to [itex]T_f[/itex] at constant volume. You know the heat capacity of this gas is [itex]C_p(t)[/itex].
Relevant Equations
For an ideal gas $$C_p - C_v = nR$$.
This is my first post of a homework problem, and I am just trying to make sure I am not missing anything as I help a child who is taking a college class on this stuff this summer. And to be clear, just trying to help her understand stuff, not help her with the homework problem. So I won't go through all the steps or give the explicit equation for [itex]C_p(t)[/itex] or anything.

To me this seems like it should be very straightforward. Since this is a constant volume process, [itex]\delta q = C_v(T) dT = (C_p(T)-nR) dT[/itex], from which we can get dS and integrate. Am I missing something? I am mainly asking because the TA indicated to my child that they should just use [itex]\delta q = C_p(T) dT[/itex] since entropy is a state function, which makes no sense to me nd was of course very confusing to my kid (who also may have misunderstood the TA - I of course wasn't there).