Computer exploration of fundemental constants

In summary, the speaker, a retired computer programmer, is asking if anyone has used programming to randomly generate equations in order to investigate dimensionless physical and mathematical constants. They explain that they have tried this in the past but are unsure if they found anything significant. They are curious if there are people who specialize in this type of research.
gaaah
Hi, I'm a retired computer programmer (of mostly business applications). I wondered if anyone could tell me if anyone has used programming to investigate the dimensionless physical/mathematical constants in a random way. By random way I mean: write a program to randomly generate an equation --randomly selecting operators, operands, equation length, etc, and testing if the result approximates zero or another dimensionless constant. If the computer found such a hit, it could flag the equation for later review and keep on exploring.

Of course the idea is that after trillions of equations it is possible a new fundamental law could be found, or at least it could provide fodder for new research.

I actually did write a program like this several years ago, and got some hits, but I didn't have the physics chops to tell if I really found anything (and I left it off as a project to take up later).

Certainly this is not a new idea(?) Can someone point me at people that do this type of research?

Physics news on Phys.org
Do you mean like the speed of light in miles per second and the speed of light in feet per second differ by exactly 5280?

Related to Computer exploration of fundemental constants

1. What are fundamental constants?