Company Pays for My Masters Degree Info?

In summary, the decision to attend graduate school immediately after undergraduate or later is dependent on whether or not the individual is willing to pay for it or if their employer has a tuition assistance program. It is generally recommended to wait until a reputable company with a tuition assistance program is obtained. The average/median time to be considered for graduate school on the company's money varies and there is no general requirement. Some individuals have gone through this process and it is not difficult to prove to a manager that one is worthy of a masters on the company's dime. It is common for companies to pay for a master's degree after the employee has been with the company for 3-5 years and there may be a requirement to stay with the company for a certain
user101
Hi - I'm an undergrad EE thinking about graduate school: whether or not to attend after I graduate or later.

If I go to graduate school immediately after, I will have to pay. If I get a job with a reputable company with a decent tuition assistance program, they will pay. Obviously, we know which one is the better choice.

Now, my question is - if I get a job with a company as I mentioned above, how long will it take (average/median time) for me to be considered to attend graduate school on the company's money? Is there a general requirement?

Also, has anyone gone through this procedure? Is it difficult to prove to your manager that you're worthy for a masters on the company's money? Any advice/stories?

Thanks all.

Physics news on Phys.org
I can imagine the company would be in need of someone with a masters, its kind of like, well why give this guy a masters if we don't have any spots open for it?

So if there's a demand for a person with a master's degree you'll be in luck BUT the hard part is, competing with all the other engineers who have worked longer for the company.