Colision and deformation between 2 objects

• Thread starter builder16
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Deformation
In summary, the conversation revolves around a forensic engineer seeking help in finding a solution to a physics and metallurgy problem involving a steel ball colliding with a metal plate. The initial velocity, material properties of the ball, and dimensions of the plate are given. The engineer is looking for the force at impact, size and depth of indentation, and coefficients of restitution for different materials. There is a discussion on whether it would be best to experimentally measure the results or use a model, with the suggestion to use industry standard software. The conversation ends with the engineer thanking for the advice and mentioning their plan to model the scenario.
builder16
I am a forensic engineer trying to find the solution to a physics / metallurgy problem. No one in my office seems to know how to approach the problem. I was hoping I could get an answer from the folks in the forum. Please help.

A 440C steel ball having a diameter of 1.0” is propelled horizontally and collides with a metal plate having the dimensions 10” x 10” x 2” thick. The initial velocity of the ball is 60 feet per second. Assume that the ball impacts the plate at its direct center. Also assume that the plate is stationary and held rigidly in place. The material properties of the steel ball are as follows: UTS = 285,000, .2%YS = 275,000, Elongation = 2%, Reduction of area = 10%, Rc hardness = C57.
Determine the force at impact. Determine the size of the indention made (diameter and depth) in the metal plate after impact. Repeat the calculations for the following materials:

Block material 1: Type 440C
Block material 2: Lead:
Block material 3: Copper

Finally, determine the coefficients of restitution in all three cases.

Physics news on Phys.org