Coburn wants to cut the NSF

• News
  • Thread starter fourier jr
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Cut
In summary, Senator Tom Coburn, a Republican from Oklahoma, has released a 73-page report accusing the National Science Foundation of mishandling nearly $3 billion in government funds. His report follows a pattern of criticizing federal research agencies for funding trivial and duplicative research and lacking oversight. However, Coburn's report has been met with backlash from both NSF officials and lobbyists, who argue that the report is misleading and fails to understand how the NSF funds multiyear research projects. Despite this, Coburn continues to call for closer management and accountability in government spending.
fourier jr
What's with this guy? He seems to begin everything by saying (basically) "I'm a doctor, so therefore, in conclusion <blank>" He did it when he wanted to cut Planned Parenthood, & I bet he tried it during the healthcare reform debate a year or two ago also. I wonder if this doctor understands "ignoratio elenchi":

Senator Tom Coburn (R-OK) has long railed against wasteful government spending and urged his colleagues to shrink the federal budget. His latest salvo is a 73-page report released today that accuses the National Science Foundation (NSF) of mishandling nearly $3 billion. The document follows a well-trod path of asserting that a federal research agency is funding trivial and duplicative research in addition to exercising inadequate oversight of existing programs.

<cut>

"His objections to research on democracy and democratic institutions seem odd in a world where building democratic institutions in the Middle East and elsewhere has become increasingly important," Silver observes. He also notes that Coburn's call to eliminate the $255 million a year social, behavioral, and economic sciences directorate echoes a 2006 proposal by Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX) that was soundly rejected by Congress.