Choosing a Specialty in Physics: Is Age a Barrier?

In summary, this course was difficult because the professor was new to using Java and Eclipse and the student had to teach him.
plife
Hi everyone! I have been stalking on this forum for a while now, and have finally gotten some courage up to post this. I am currently a physics undergraduate major at a state university. I am enjoying my studies and getting straight A's.

I worked for many years in Silicon Valley as a test engineer and my first physics studies were in device physics at Bekerley which I found fascinating. During those days I decided that I HAD to learn physics. However, now that I am learning it, I am beginning to wonder what for... My plan is to go all the way through my PhD in physics. I had to start at the beginning because I needed all the math and science studies - so I have many years of study in front of me to obtain my PhD. I am thinking I might very well be in my mid 60's when I finish and I hope to find an actual job in physics, eventually. I love astronomy, particle physics, optics, and many other aspects of the field. My passion is the laboratory; gathering data, crunching numbers, tweaking experiments, rinse, repeat.

So, here is my question; how do I choose a specialty - or even a minor? I thought about astronomy, but heard others say there is no work for a physicist with a minor in astronomy. Then I thought maybe physics with optics specialty would be fun - but search results showed no jobs. Everywhere I look, I see no jobs. Should I give up on a future at my age? What do you folks think?

Physics news on Phys.org
The economy is in a slump. Things may or may not be better when you get out. Age discrimination is a very real possibility for you. Do it if you value physics to the point where the PhD. would have been worth it even if there is no job waiting for you. The bleak job outlook is the reaon I didn't go for a math PhD.