Chemistry/physics double major?

In summary, if you want to pursue physics alongside your chemistry degree, it is recommended that you take upper division physics courses and have a good background in physical chemistry.
djh101
I will be transferring to UCLA in the fall as a chemistry major (with physical chemistry concentration) and intend to pursue physical chemistry in graduate school afterward and have a few questions about pursuing physics alongside chemistry:

-Physics is such an interesting field (particularly particle physics) and I feel like I'll be missing out if I don't pursue it at all past lower division courses. Would double majoring be a good idea or a waste of time (and effort)?

-If I finished my chemistry degree and decided that I'd rather pursue physics, could I study physics in graduate school with a chemistry degree (plus a good background in physical chemistry and maybe having taken a few upper division physics courses and education from self study)?

-Since pursuing a bachelor's in physics might not be an option for me, I was thinking I could perhaps purchase some books and teach myself about some of the topics covered in upper division physics classes. Does anyone on here have any experience with self-taught physics?

Physics news on Phys.org
There is a ZapperZ thread titled something like "I have so and so degree, can I get into physics?" and also his "So you want to be a physicist" essay which may prove helpful to you.

PhysicsGRE.com also has a number (not too high, mind you) of a students, with a non-physics background, who have expressed interest in pursuing graduate study in physics. According to my observations, most of these people have engineering degrees. Try making a search there. There was a thread on the very topic a day or two ago.