Chem Eng: Hot Career Option for Canada?

• Thread starter plutonium
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Chem Hot
In summary, the speaker is an experienced chemical engineering professional who has worked in various industries and is now retired. They advise the undergraduate to keep an open mind and apply for all jobs in the technical field, as chemical engineering can be applied to various industries. They also mention that their original interest in sewage disposal did not work out and they ended up in commercial and regulatory management. The speaker also mentions that they are not familiar with the Canadian economy and cannot answer specific questions about it. They suggest the undergraduate take the first job that is offered to them and consider the diverse opportunities available in the field of chemical engineering.
plutonium
I'm a chemical engineering undergraduate studying in Canada right now. I'm not too sure what my future looks like, so I'd like to have some opinions on whether it's a good engineering discipline to stick with.

1. I'm interested in a career in R&D, but I hear that you need at least a PhD. I'm willing to get a master's, but a PhD is a huge commitment on time and foregone salary. Will I be able to do research with just a master's and still make at least the same money as BS engineers doing non-R&D, but technical work? If so, will I be at a disadvantage if the BS engineer moves on to say, a project manager?

2. I'm interested in working in the biotech sector, but isn't most of it R&D? I'd be willing to move to the States (since Canada pales in comparison to the US), but what non-R&D opportunities are available in Canada besides manufacturing of pharmaceuticals and other biochemicals?

3. Besides biotech and the oil fields in Alberta, what are some other hot areas?

I hope my questions tailored specifically to the Canadian economy doesn't prove to be a hindrance...

Likes CHRISTALS
Engineering news on Phys.org