Chem.E, dual major or language minor?

In summary: The payoff, in terms of job market, would be more difficult to determine. Additionally, if you are interested in a business, you will need at least a bachelors in business. I would recommend doing more research before making a decision.In summary, Despite being a transfer student, I would still recommend pursuing a biochemistry degree if you want to pursue a career in chemical engineering. The payoff, in terms of job market, would be more difficult to determine, but the pay off in terms of understanding biochemistry and the processes used in chemistry would be significant.
jking6
I'm going to school for chemical engineering with an emphasis in biotechnology, in the hopes of working for a corporation out of school, but eventually founding my own business. As I looked at the curriculum for chem engineering however, I realized I'll have a LOT of free time if I only do the major and nothing else. After researching for a bit, I came out with two possible options for myself.

1. I could obtain a minor in Japanese(language) while taking a below-average course load. I already know a good deal of Japanese, but I'm hoping it would make my skill official and it would also bring me from 'conversational' to 'near fluent'. My dad is really pressing me towards this option, because he feels that with increasing globalization it will put me above other fresh graduates in terms of finding a job.

2. I could obtain a second undergraduate degree in biochemistry while taking an above-average course load. This option is more appealing to me, because I feel it will give me a broader understanding of biology, biochemistry, and the processes being used. Also, I feel it would help me in the 'start my own business' portion of my aspirations, and I can always spend a few months in Japan to bring myself to fluency via immersion.