Careers using pure mathematics

In summary, Michael Freedman from Microsoft came to talk about the significance of Topology in Quantum Computing and advised that if you are at the top of your field, studying Topology is a good option.
Zoe-b
Hi,
Just wanted to know if any of you guys had any useful advice with regards to careers from a maths degree. I am in my second year of a integrated masters (in the UK) and would be open to further study. I am doing well academically so far (top 15% of my uni, which is prob 2nd best in UK), but finding that I really have very little idea of what I want to do afterwards. I have considered going into finance or consulting but so far have not been sucessful in any of the things I have applied for (eg easter internships) and perhaps this is because my heart isn't in it. I love pure maths.. I'm starting to get some choice in my course and have chosen all pure modules with the exception of probability and statistics. I have been thinking for a while that I would love to do cryptography but a) I don't actually know that much number theory yet so I don't know if I would be any good(!) and b) it seems a very niche area, probably too small to pin all my job hopes on. My professors definitely aren't too much help, on discussing my course choices I said I wanted to do at least some things that would be useful and his opinion was that I wasn't studying maths to be useful. Which I guess is true, but I'd also like to be employed..

Does anyone have ideas of jobs that actually use pure mathematics? Or know if there is much opportunity for research in this area? I would also consider becoming an academic but again feel it is too early to know whether I am actually good enough for this. I love my degree though and would willingly take lower pay for a job that might actually use some of the stuff I'm doing.

Thank you!

Physics news on Phys.org