Careers in Industry with Some Physics (Another EE, Physics Grad. Degree Thread)

In summary, you have identified several industries that meet your criteria for a career, including semiconductors, medical technologies, telecommunications, solar photovoltaics, and the financial industry. To establish a career in any of these industries, it is recommended to pursue a Master's degree in Electrical Engineering and/or Applied Physics, with a possible focus on energy engineering. You may also want to consider a dual degree program to gain a broader range of skills and knowledge. Best of luck in your pursuit!
DownAndOut
Hi, all. I graduated with a bachelor’s degree in physics last spring from a top ten U.S. school and I’m currently looking into graduate programs. My goal is to have a career in an industry that satisfies these criteria

1. Produces practical, socially beneficial results
2. Involves at least some physics thinking (as opposed to “by-the-book”, rote engineering)
3. Has some job security
4. Pays decently (after years of educational grind I’d like to not have to worry about money)
5. Is in the Pacific Northwest, Colorado or around those places (I’d like to live close to family)
6. Doesn’t force me to move frequently (I don’t like having to make new friends every 3 years…)

I’ve concluded that a career in academia doesn’t satisfy criteria 3, 4 and 6. I guess this leaves me with industry and government labs. As far as I’ve been able to tell, the following industries satisfy some of these criteria

a. Semiconductors and related devices (weak on criterion 3 due to outsourcing, strong on criterion 5)
b. Medical technologies, in particular imaging devices and plasmonics (maybe weak on criterion 5, I’m not sure. I think due to regulations a lot medical technology stuff has to be done in the U.S. so I think criterion 3 is strong. )
c. Telecommunications, in particular RF devices and satellite work