Career advice for a high school student

In summary, it seems like a CS or EE degree is more likely to lead to a good job, whereas a major in statistics may not be as beneficial.
wamozart
Hi I am a grade 12 student who is interested in engineering and passionate about music. So I want to pursue a career which mixes both engineering and music. I want to be involved in a part of time that designs and manufactures electrical musical instruments (digital piano, electrical violin, electrical guitar, bass, etc) My questions are
1) It seems like Casio and Yamaha are the leading companies in this industry. Then do I have to live in Japan?
2) What subspeciality of electrical engineering is the most related to musical instruments production?

Physics news on Phys.org
You don't have to work in the field that you love. In fact, sometimes that choice may be a mistake.

For example, I really enjoy aviation, and RF engineering. I suppose it would be a natural for me to attempt to combine the two. But I don't. And thank goodness. There are times when I really enjoy being able to say "I don't need to fly in this {weather, aircraft, terrain, etc}" and not have to worry about the financial consequences of my decision. I fly strictly for fun and it is more enjoyable that way.

Likewise, I tinker with Ham Radio gear as I've done for many years. I sometimes get to apply these skills to work. But mostly, I enjoy following my notions and building stuff without regard to practicality.

My day job involves industrial control engineering for a large water utility. It's fun and rewarding work, but it's not what I would have thought to pursue when I was in high school.

Again, you don't HAVE to do everything all in one place.