Cantilever Trianlge Truss Design

In summary: Therefore, the forces in these chords should be equal. Overall, your solution using the graphical method is correct and you can also solve it mathematically using the equations of equilibrium.
caseyvoigt
1. I am an architecture student and the assignment is to design a truss, set up the problem and solve it using graphic statics. I think I did it correctly using the graphical method but I am interested in solving it mathematically. Did I set the problem up correctly in my diagram and if so, where do I go from here? I know that if this was just a simple overhang, I would not need the members AD and BD but the top chord is supporting joists so I thought the chords AD and BD were necessary.

2. [tex]\sum[/tex]m=0
[tex]\sum[/tex]Fv=0
[tex]\sum[/tex]Fh=0
m=moments
v=vertical
h=horizontal

3. I Just used sum or forces in vertical and horizontal I removed chord AD because I realized it did not do anything. The new link Shows my work. I am concerned because I feel like the top chords (a,b and a,c) ahould not be equal for some reason but it does make sense that they are too. Did I do this problem correctly?

MY WORK

http://i1128.photobucket.com/albums/m490/caseyvoigt/TrussBwithwork.jpg"

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org