Can you help me choose my maths options?

• Thread starter Venomily
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Options
In summary: Quantum Information TheoryIn summary, if you are interested in pursuing a PhD in quantum computation, you should focus on taking modules that will provide you with a strong foundation in both mathematics and physics. Some possible modules to consider are listed above, but ultimately the decision should be based on your interests and future research goals.
Venomily
I am studying Discrete Mathematics and if I do a PhD I would like to base the research on or around quantum computation. Unfortunately I can't take any physics modules at all, so please ignore the physics modules on the pages; I can only pick from the maths modules.

-----------------------------------------------

Modules for 2nd year:
pick a maximum of 5 from these
http://www2.warwick.ac.uk/fac/sci/maths/undergrad/ughandbook/year2

1. Algebra I: Advanced linear algebra
2. Combinatorial Optimization

the above two modules are determined already, so please ignore them.

------------------------------------------------

Modules for 3rd year:
pick a maximum of 6 from these
http://www2.warwick.ac.uk/fac/sci/maths/undergrad/ughandbook/year3/
this can be anything from maths.

------------------------------------------------And just a side question:

am I even allowed to study quantum computation post degree? I thought for masters/PhD study they train you (within reason), and apparently you only need a basic understanding of quantum mechanics to work within quantum computation... so it's not as if I need a WHOLE physics degree or WHOLE mathematics degree; besides, my degree is effectively 60-70% mathematics, the rest is 'mathematical' CS.
Thanks guys, I'm just trying to get some ideas with regards to what modules I should take. I will not take any of your words as gospel so you do not have to carry the burden of deciding my future career :).