Can You Convert a Trike Differential Gear to a Chain Drive for a Kart?

In summary: However, if the crown wheel is powered by the engine, the reduction ratio for the final chain sprocket is a very important design parameter. Putting the chain on the differential input shaft would make it difficult to change the chain reduction ratio without rebuilding the differential. You would need to cut off the input shaft and replace it with a shaft with a different size. Alternatively, you could use a differential with a built-in chain reduction gear.
synMehdi
Hi, I'm a beginner in mechanics so I need some help with a project I started. My project consists of a small kart-like car.

The car will be Rear-Wheel-Drive and Rear-Engine too (RR layout). and I am willing to use a small 110cc moped engine.

I have a trike Differential Gear for the rear shaft that I want to use. It has a prop shaft drive.

I want to change that and convert it into a Chain Drive Differential. Is it possible by adding Sprockets to the ring gear (and opening the differential housing to pass the chain)? can I put the Sprocket outside the housing? or is there a better solution?
My aim is to mount the chain directly between the engine and the Differential Gear.

Engineering news on Phys.org
synMehdi said:
Hi, I'm a beginner in mechanics so I need some help with a project I started. My project consists of a small kart-like car.

The car will be Rear-Wheel-Drive and Rear-Engine too (RR layout). and I am willing to use a small 110cc moped engine.

I have a trike Differential Gear for the rear shaft that I want to use. It has a prop shaft drive.

I want to change that and convert it into a Chain Drive Differential. Is it possible by adding Sprockets to the ring gear (and opening the differential housing to pass the chain)? can I put the Sprocket outside the housing? or is there a better solution?
My aim is to mount the chain directly between the engine and the Differential Gear.