Can Tom Ogle's Vapor Engine Claims Be Debunked?

In summary, The conversation is about trying to debunk Tom Ogle's claims about his vapor engine. The speaker has no experience in physics and is having trouble understanding the energy requirements of moving a 2.5 ton car 100 miles on 1 gallon of gasoline. They mention the energy density of gasoline and the efficiency of internal combustion engines. They also mention some equations but don't know how to use them. The conversation ends with a quote about the energy usage in modern cars.
aroc91

Homework Statement

This isn't really a homework problem, but this section seems most applicable. I'm trying to debunk Tom Ogle's vapor engine claims.

http://peswiki.com/index.php/Directory:Tom_Ogle%27s_Vapor_Fuel_System

However, I have no experience at all with physics and even with all the reading I did, I still can't figure it out. Ogle made the claim that he drove his 2.5 ton (2267 kg) car 100 miles (160 km) on 1 gallon (originally 200 miles on 2 gallons, I reduced it for simplicity's sake) of gas. I've looked up the energy density of gasoline (136 million joules/gallon), but I can't figure out how much energy it takes to move 2267

Also, just for the time being, I'm making the assumption (although incorrect) that the efficiency of an internal combustion engine is 100%. I can always multiply the final result by 0.3 to reflect the real world efficiency (more or less).

Homework Equations

F = m*a
W = F/d

The Attempt at a Solution

I know that a joule is the work done by applying a force of 1 Newton over the distance of 1 meter, but the whole acceleration thing throws me off when I try to plug stuff in. I don't really know what to do with it. Sorry if this isn't deemed a proper attempt.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
aroc91 said:

Homework Statement

This isn't really a homework problem, but this section seems most applicable. I'm trying to debunk Tom Ogle's vapor engine claims.