Can someone explain what it is meant by a 'Flat Universe'?

In summary, the universe is described as flat because it follows the principles of Euclidean geometry, where parallel lines do not meet and the sum of angles in a triangle is 180°. This is surprising because according to General Relativity, space-time is expected to be curved. However, current observations show that the universe is nearly flat, with a curvature too small to be detected. This suggests that the universe is either truly flat or so large that the curvature is undetectable at our current scale. General Relativity explains how mass affects space-time and causes the universe to be flat or nearly flat. This theory is a significant achievement in understanding the nature of gravity.
Kiyal
I have been reading and looking at videos regarding cosmic inflation and it said that the universe is flat. I am no expert and have no mathematical background - I love reading about space and learning new things about it. It just really irritates me when things go right over my head and this idea of a 'Flat Universe' is out my grasp, so please try and enlighten me.

I would appreciate it if someone could explain it to me in a simple way or direct me to material that will give me an answer to a young laymen, like myself.

What is it meant by a 'Flat Universe'?

Thank you.

Space news on Phys.org
It just means that space is "Euclidian". Parallel lines don't meet, the sum of angles in a triangle is 180° and so on. While this might seem obvious at short scales, there is a priori no reason for it to hold at cosmological scales. General Relativity predicts that "in general" space is curved, so the fact that it is observed to be flat is remarkable.