Can someone explain the significance of the Higgs boson?

In summary, the conversation discusses the Higgs boson and its role in giving mass to particles and breaking the symmetry between electromagnetic and weak interactions. It also touches on the origin of mass and the significance of the Higgs boson in layman's terms. The Higgs boson is created from the excitation of the Higgs field and all mass comes from this field. There are other particles that can be created without the involvement of a mass-containing particle, but the Higgs boson is crucial in explaining the weak interactions and the differences between electromagnetic and weak forces.
Amok
Hey guys,

Being interested in science (and living in Switzerland), I've been reading a lot about the Higgs boson in mainstream news. Unfortunately, the best thing I can get out of that kind of report is the overused analogy of some celebrity moving in a crowd. I have practically no understanding of QFT, but I'm doing a masters in theoretical chemistry which means I do have a good grasp on QM. I was wondering if you guys could explain to me what is the big deal with the Higgs boson . I get it that it gives mass to particles, but that doesn't really mean much to me. Why isn't there a particle that gives charge to particles? If it gives mass to particles, isn't it intimately connected with the gravitational force (even though it is not the graviton)? How do people at CERN know that what they have detected is a boson and how they know its mass?

Physics news on Phys.org
My 'dummy' understanding is that the Higgs is the mass that is produced when mass-less ENERGY is converted into mass.
The Higgs is NOT built from other particles, it acquires its mass DIRECTLY from mass-less energy.
The decay of the Higgs is what produces OTHER particles which then combine and interact to produce other forms of mass & matter.

I would like to know your layman's description of the Higgs.

Jay Kosta
Endwell NY USA