Can scientists control gravity?

In summary, Professor André Füzfa of Namur University has proposed a way to control and study gravitational fields using magnetic fields. If followed, this proposal could transform physics and shake up Einstein's theory of general relativity.
wolram
Gold Member
Dearly Missed
Is this line of research a reality?

https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2016/01/160108083918.htm

Produce and detect gravitational fields at will using magnetic fields, control them for studying them, work with them to produce new technologies -- it sounds daring, but Prof. André Füzfa of Namur University has proposed just that in an article published in the scientific journal Physical Review D. If followed, this proposal could transform physics and shake up Einstein's theory of general relativity.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hmmmmm... When I was an undergrad studying physics we did an experiment to measure gravity. We took a cassette tape and unwound it, hung it down the three story stairwell of the science building. At the end of the tape, we attached a stiff metal rod with a ball bearing at each end. Took some doing to set up. But the twist of the cassette tape medium was such that if we brought a 400 pound barrel of sand close to one of the ball bearing, the tape would twist due to the gravity between the barrel of sand and the ball bearing. It was a very tiny force. But the deflection was clearly real, the ball bearing moved towards the sand. We continued to use different masses bringing them near and sure enough Gmm/r matched the gravitational force that should have been there. So making gravity waves is, in some sense, quite trivial, just take any mass and shake it. As I understand it, the gravity waves travel at the speed of light. But that was way beyond the scope of the experiment.

From How current loops and solenoids curve space-time