Can reversing the polarity of a charged capacitor have dangerous consequences?

• Thread starter DottMySaviour
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Capacitor
In summary, the conversation discusses the effects of reversing the polarity of a charged capacitor and the potential dangers associated with it. The participants also suggest an experiment to better understand the behavior of capacitors and emphasize the importance of hands-on experience in learning electronics.
DottMySaviour
I just started learning about capacitors in Electrical and Electronics Principles and I thought of a situation which I couldn't get a satisfactory answer/explanation from my lecturer.

What happens if after charging a capacitor to 99%, I reverse the polarity of my power supply (or flip the capacitor)?
Also, is it dangerous to do this and why?

I'm assuming the surplus electrons on the side of the capacitor will flow to the other side of the capacitor, thus changing the polarity of the charged capacitor, i.e. discharge then charge again.

Engineering news on Phys.org
You have it right. The polarity of the charge will flip after a surge in the current.

Dangerous depends on how big the voltages and currents are. High voltages and large currents should always be considered dangerous.

If you are playing with a 1.5 v charge on a 1 μf capacitor, there is no danger to humans.

DottMySaviour said:
I'm assuming the surplus electrons on the side of the capacitor will flow to the other side of the capacitor, thus changing the polarity of the charged capacitor, i.e. discharge then charge again.

An experiment for you.
Every new student should try this.

Try it with an ohm meter and capacitor.

While you're at it
take two multimeters . Label one "Measuror" and the other "Measurree".

Connect their red leads together.
Connect their black leads together.

Set "Measuror" to DC volts, a high scale.
Set "Measuree" to Ohms, highest scale.
In following steps, write down meter readings.