Can R be a subset of S and still not have the same reflexivity as S?

In summary, the conversation discusses proving three statements related to relations on a set, specifically focusing on reflexivity, symmetry, and transitivity. The speaker understands the definitions but is unsure how to specify the conditions and asks for help. An attempt is made on proving the first statement, but a counterexample is provided for reflexivity. The expert then clarifies the concept of a subset and how it relates to the proof, and suggests making R reflexive on the entire set to prove the statement.
tn0c
Hi, this is my first time posting here, and I am trying to prove the following proofs and I do not know how to start:

Suppose R and S are relations on set A

1. If R is reflexive and R is a subset of S, then S is reflexive.
2. If R is symmetric and R is a subset of S, then S is symmetric.
3. If R is transitive and R is a subset of S, then S is transitive.

I understand the definitions well enough, but I do not know how to specify these conditions.
I am not certain that any of these are true. Any help would certainly be appreciated.

Attempt on #1:

Assume R is reflexive
Assume R is a subset of S.

Since R is reflexive, for all x in R, xRx ---> xRx
and since R is a subset of S, all x in R is in S as well.

Thus x in S, xSx ---> xSx (this is the step I am not sure of, nor do I know if I have anything else to work off of.)

Therefore S is reflexive. The other two questions I set up the same way, but I use the other definitions. It definitely is not enough, and in the original problem it states (prove or show counterexample). So I am wondering if this is suitable.

1. let R, S be relations on A
R= { (1,1) (2,2) (1,2) (2,1)}
S= { (1,1) (2,2) (1,2) (2,1) (1,3) (2,3) (3,2) (3,1)}

Clearly R is reflexive and R is in S. But S is not reflexive as it does not contain (3,3).