Can I Start Studying Physical Chemistry Without a Chemistry Background?

In summary: Worth a try. Better if you are an undergraduate student trying for Chemistry as your major field, so you would have academic study and laboratory exercises. You would find some Thermodynamics and reaction Kinetics and other parts to Physical Chemistry; at first in your General Chemistry course, and then later there would be a Physical Chemistry course/courses. I only stated a Physics "Thermodynamics" course in my belief that it might give a stronger understanding of this, but I may be mistaken.
Aleoa
Hi guys,
i'm a computer scientist with no background in Chemistry and I'm very interested in the field of Physical Chemistry.

Do you think i can directly start to study a Physical Chemistry book ?
If yes, do you have some books to suggest ?

Physics news on Phys.org
Physical Chemistry is a lot of thermodynamics, and to adequately prepare for it, you really need a good basic chemistry book that introduces you to some of the thermodynamics. I recommend "University Chemistry" by Mahan as a very good book to get started. See https://www.amazon.com/dp/8131729575/?tag=pfamazon01-20 ## \\ ## Our professor, who himself was a thermodynamics and physical chemistry expert, used this book when I was a college student in a one year=3 quarters honors first year chemistry sequence, and it is really quite excellent.

I doubt you will be able to grasp the ideas without any general chemistry background.

Aleoa said:
Hi guys,
i'm a computer scientist with no background in Chemistry and I'm very interested in the field of Physical Chemistry.

Do you think i can directly start to study a Physical Chemistry book ?
If yes, do you have some books to suggest ?
Borek is right, but what he said was not enough.