Can I Read 30 Extra Credits in 1 Year at 200%?

• Thread starter izzor
  • Start date
In summary, the speaker is a top student studying engineering at a university in Scandinavia. They have been studying at a pace of 150% and have excelled in their courses. They are considering studying French and increasing their workload to 200%. However, they are concerned about the feasibility of this and how it will affect their grades. They are also considering studying abroad, but are unsure about how to balance their workload. The expert advises caution and suggests focusing on areas of interest rather than taking on more courses. They also suggest reducing the workload to 100% and adding French on top of that.
izzor
Hello, I am currently studying enginnering in a university in Scandinavia and will be starting my third year now next week with the total eduaction being five years. I have been studying at a pace of 150% over the last year, including extra mathematics, physics and chemistry. It has been really tough, forcing me to study every minute of the day. However I got the highest grades in almost all courses, meaning I am a so called model pupil.

I have lately been interested in studying french, meaning I will have to step up from 150% to 200%. Is this possible? How much more work will it take studying a new language?

I am somewhat talented in languages and can speak three languages with full proficiency. How many hours a week will I have to spend in order to read 30 extra credits distributed over a year? If I manage I will have to accomplish 120 credits in a year which is equivalent to two years of full time studying, while still keeping my current standard (highest possible grade).

Once again, is this possible? Do you guys have any tips? Inputs? Etc.

Physics news on Phys.org
If you are already forcing yourself to study every minute of the day, then perhaps studying even more is not the best idea.