Can I Minor in Astrophysics With a Computer Engineering Major?

In summary, it is possible to minor in astrophysics while majoring in computer engineering, depending on your university's requirements. Having a minor in astrophysics can provide a well-rounded education and may be beneficial for a career in related fields. It can complement a computer engineering major by providing a foundation in physics and astronomy. Many universities offer astrophysics courses as electives for computer engineering majors. While not as common, it is becoming more popular as technology and space exploration intersect.
Astrocomp
I'm majoring in computer engineering, I already have decided this. But the problem is my minor - I wish to minor in astrophysics. Is this ok with my choice of major?

Physics news on Phys.org
Sure, you can do that. Some of the classes for an astrophysics minor would be required for computer engineering anyway. But it's not going to get you anything besides letting you take classes you're interested in, and you can do that without a minor in it. A minor in astrophysics doesn't qualify you for any related graduate programs.

Related to Can I Minor in Astrophysics With a Computer Engineering Major?

1. Can I minor in astrophysics with a computer engineering major?

Yes, it is possible to minor in astrophysics while majoring in computer engineering. However, it will depend on the specific requirements of your university and your ability to fulfill them.

2. Will a minor in astrophysics be beneficial for my computer engineering career?

Having a minor in astrophysics can provide you with a well-rounded education and a broader understanding of the field of science and technology. It may also be beneficial if you are interested in pursuing a career in a related field, such as space technology or aerospace engineering.

3. How will a minor in astrophysics complement my computer engineering major?