Can I Create a Strong Enough Electromagnet for My Video Installation?

In summary, Nick is looking for a way to cover the lenses of two projectors with an electromagnet. He has two possible solutions, one involving projectors with automatic slide changers and the other involving a rotational actuator and limit switches.
nbontra
I'm a photographer at the University of Houston, and upon construction of a video installation I need a device that will alternatively cover the lenses of two different projectors. The first thing that came to mind was an electromagnet that would control the raising of different arms.

Pressure plates are installed so that the current from 120v outlet is shifted from left to right, depending on where you stand in the room. I would like the current to be directed to two different electromagnets so that it will pull on the arm and cover the lens of the opposite projector.

My question is on the technical aspect of the electromagnets. My only experience has been the traditional wire wrapped around a nail with a battery attached. While I'm sure the 120volt current is definitely too much, what would be the strongest electromagnet I could construct while maintaining safety in the gallery space?

Thank you in advance for any help. A crude drawing has been attached to better illustrate my dilemma.

-Nick B

Attachments

• physicsforum.JPG
    physicsforum.JPG
    18.7 KB · Views: 488
Engineering news on Phys.org
I would recommend looking at linear solenoid actuators. You could have one on each projector and each switch would control each actuator independently. The only thing with what you have there is that the electromagnet would always be on to keep one projector open. That may be an issue with the solenoid actuators as well. They don't like staying energized for really long periods because of the heat build up.